Bylaws Committee

The Bylaws Committee is a standing committee of the SC/MLA. As such the committee keeps the bylaws in accordance with MLA's model Bylaws and recommends changes to the Chapter’s Bylaws as approved by the SC/MLA membership.

The Bylaws Committee has 3 members including the Chair. Members serve for three (3) years – two (2) years as a member, their 3rd year as chair.  The chair serves for one (1) year which may be extended for a second consecutive term if the member in his/her third year cannot take over as chair. Following his/her term as chair he/she may serve as an ex officio member for one (1) year, if needed. Members serve staggered terms to maintain continuity within the committee. 


Name State/Terr. Term Ends
Sylvia McAphee (Chair) AL 2017
John Reazer FL 2017
Irma Quinones PR 2018